After weeks when you’ve hardly ever opened the app, did you realize that you can easily do everything without Instagram but do not know how to deactivate your account?

Would you like to temporarily disable your Instagram profile to be able to reorganize and take care of it more closely in the coming months?

You’ve come to the right place at the right time.

With today’s guide, we will see together how to delete ourselves from Instagram and how to deactivate accounts on a temporary basis: two very simple operations that require very little time to be completed.

The only problem – if we want to define it – is that you have to connect to the service’s website and you can not act directly from the smartphone app, but this is really a very minor detail.

Once connected to the Internet site of Instagram (from smartphone, PC or tablet) just a few clicks to exit the social network temporarily or permanently delete photos, like and all the information related to your account.

Are you ready to start? Find all the information you need right below.

Preliminary operations: backup

4k stogram

If you have decided to close your Instagram profile permanently, before proceeding with the action make a complete backup of all the photos you have uploaded on the social network.

To do this I suggest you to rely on 4K Stogram, a free software for Windows and Mac OS X that in one go download all the photos (and videos) on an Instagram profile, for a maximum of two profiles at the same time.

By purchasing the Pro version of the software (€ 9.95) you can download photos of multiple users at the same time, but for now, this feature does not help you.

To download 4K Stogram to your PC, connect to the program’s website and click the Download 4K Stogram button. Then start the installation package called  4kstogram_xx.exe and click on Yes first and then OK.

Now put the check mark next to the item I accept the terms of the license agreement and press first on Next three consecutive times and then on Install and Finish to finish the setup.

If you use a Mac, to install 4K Stogram you have to open the dmg package you downloaded from the Internet and you have to copy the program icon in the Applications folder of OS X. Everything here.

Now start 4K Stogram, type your username in the search bar at the top and click on the Subscribe button to start downloading all your photos and videos (which are automatically saved in the Pictures/Stogram folder on your computer).

If you are asked to support the app by sharing a post on Facebook, you refuse, it is not necessary. More info on the operation of 4K Stogram and other similar tools are available in my tutorial on how to download photos from Instagram.

How to unsubscribe from Instagram permanently

Delete Instagram

Now let’s move on to action, let’s see how can we delete ourselves from Instagram in a definitive way. To delete your account from Instagram permanently, linked to this page from your computer or smartphone and, if required, access the service by typing your username and password.

When logged in, indicate why you want to unsubscribe from Instagram using the drop-down menu.

Why are you deleting your account?  Among the options available there are concerns about privacy, the creation of another account, difficulty in finding followers and other reasons: you choose the one that you consider most compatible with your situation.

Then enter the password of your Instagram account in the text field that appears at the bottom of the page and press the button Delete my account permanently to delete you permanently from Instagram.

It is important to note that once an account has been deleted on Instagram, it is impossible to reactivate it. All photos, likes and data saved on the service are deleted and it is even impossible to register again on the social network using the same username. In short, think well before taking this step!

Without this clarification, I remind you that after the cancellation of the account you can safely delete the Instagram app from your phone: on the iPhone just hold your finger on its icon for a few seconds and press the x that appears in the upper left, on Android instead you have to go to Settings> App and first press the Instagram icon and then the Uninstall button.

How to deactivate an Instagram account

How to delete your Instagram account

To deactivate your Instagram account temporarily, connected to the service’s website  (instagram.com) from your computer, smartphone or tablet and log in by clicking on the Login button as [your name]. If you do not see the button to log in, click on the item Do you have an account? Login that is at the bottom and connected to your account by filling out the form that is proposed to you.

In the page that opens, click on the icon of the man placed at the top right and press the button Edit the profile on the page of your personal profile.

Now select the item Temporarily disable my account at the bottom of the screen, choose the reason why you are deactivating your profile (eg I need a break ) from the drop-down menu Why are you deactivating your account? and complete the operation by typing the Instagram password in the appropriate text field and pressing the button Temporarily disable the account.

Subsequently, to reactivate your account, all you need to do is log in to Instagram using your account and confirm your willingness to reopen your profile.

If you do not want to completely deactivate your account but only make it private (ie allow it to be viewed by old followers and the people you provide the link to), open the Instagram app on your smartphone and press first the icon of the little man placed in bottom right and then on the button (…) in the upper right corner. Then move the lever on the Private Account option to ON and you’re done.

Note: Deactivation of the Instagram account can be done at most once a week. Do not abuse this feature.