After archiving or hiding a conversation, you may be wondering how to retrieve archived Messenger chats. Using an iPhone or an Android smartphone, sometimes, to protect your privacy, you may want to hide conversations on Messenger.
When you do, the chat becomes invisible and no longer accessible from the Facebook application. So much so that it seems even canceled. However, it is certainly possible to recover Messenger archived chat. In this guide, I’ll explain how it’s done.
How to recover archived chat in Messenger
Regardless of whether you use an iPhone or an Android smartphone, the ways to restore conversations stored on Messenger are the same. In fact, this can be done in two ways, namely:
- Automatic recovery
- Manual recovery
Automatically extracting a conversation from the Messenger archive is very simple. To do this, first of all, you have to open Facebook Messenger and access the People tab. Then you have to search for the contact connected to the archived chat and touch it. By doing this, you will see the chat history.
At this point, you can retrieve Messenger chats by sending a message to the other party. As you will notice, automatically, the system will move the conversation in the list of active chats. Alternatively, you can also contact your counterpart. In fact, even on that occasion, the conversation will come back to life.
If you want to do it yourself, you can retrieve Messenger chat files manually. However, you can not use your iOS or Android device to do so. Therefore, you must first connect to Facebook with your computer. Immediately afterwards, you must move to the Messages section.
As soon as you see the list of active conversations, you must click on the More menu and choose the Archived option (at the top). In this way, you will have access to the list of archived chats. Now, you have to find the one you want to restore.
When you have chosen, you can retrieve archived Messenger chats. To do this, you must drag the mouse cursor over the conversation and choose the Undo archiving option. It is the one represented by the symbol of an oblique arrow pointing to the left. After doing so, the chat will return to visible.