If you have a used Macbook that you want to sell to someone else, see what steps to take to back up, erase all your personal information, and restore your computer so that the other person gets the Macbook reset and ready to set up as new.

4 Things To Do Before Selling Your Used Macbook

1. Make a backup of your used Macbook

Backing up your Macbook is important. Even if you just bought it. Ideally, you should back up every day to avoid frustration if a problem arises.

Whether using Apple’s Time Machine, manually copying information to an external hard drive or saving your main files to the cloud, back up before selling your Macbook.

Remember that if you switch to another Mac, when backing up by Time Machine everything will return exactly as it was on the old computer.

2. End active sessions

The next steps will unlink your account from Mac apps like iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage. This will prevent traces or content from your account to the next owner.

Log out of iTunes:

  1. Open iTunes
  2. In the menu bar, click Account;
  3. Select Authorizations, and then click Deauthorize this computer.
  4. Enter your Apple ID email and password;
  5. Click Deauthorize.

Log out of iCloud:

  1. Click on the apple in the menu bar and select System Preferences;
  2. Access the item iCloud;
  3. Click End Session;
  4. Select the items you want to keep a copy of on your computer, if you want, and click Keep Copy.

End the iMessage session:

  1. Open the Messaging app.
  2. In the menu bar, click Messages and open preferences (or use the shortcut Command + comma);
  3. Click on the iMessage tab;
  4. Click End Session.

3. Disconnect the Bluetooth devices

This step is important so that if you move your computer to someone close to you who works or uses your Macbook near you, you don’t accidentally connect to your Bluetooth devices.

  1. Click on the apple icon in the menu bar and select System Preferences;
  2. Access the item Bluetooth;
  3. Hover over the device name, then click the X that will appear on the right side.

Remember: If you use the Bluetooth mouse or keyboard on your Macbook, they will stop working on this computer.

4. Reinstall the system for the other person.

Once all your accounts and devices have been removed, you can erase the disk and restore the factory system so that the new owner of your used Macbook can set it up as new.

Make sure you no longer need anything on that computer before you perform this next procedure, as everything will be erased and returned, except for the items you have backed up.

We have already written a guide on how to restore the system and erase the disk, check out the link below:

Ready! Now just send your used Macbook to his new home.

With information: Apple



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here