The Google saw that was not going to give and put an end to Allo. The messaging app will only work until March 2019. Meanwhile, you can – if you are one of the few who used the messenger – download and save your message history. To make it easier to export data, an update was released for Android and iOS (iPhone).
The update was done on October 31, so if you have not updated your Allo application since this date, do so before attempting to export the data following these steps.
- Settings and chats without traces are not saved;
- Backup and Restore settings are only available for mobile phones;
- If you uninstalled Allo, backups are automatically deleted after 40 days.
How to download Allo’s chat or media history
- On the smartphone (Android), open Allo;
- Go to “Menu” and then “Settings”;
- Touch “Chat”;
- Select an option:
Export chat messages: includes only the text of the message.
Export Stored Media: Includes photos, videos, and other files.
- Choose where you want to store the file (it can be Google Drive);
The messages will be in a CSV file.
The media attachments will be in a ZIP file.
- After the download is complete, navigate to the location where the file was saved.
What will happen after the when Allo ends
Well, it will end …
All your Allo messages will be deleted, including trailing messages and backups. Luckily, media files (photos, gifs, videos, and so on) that have already been saved to your device will be in a Google Allo folder within the Google Photos app. To ensure that this happens without fuss, open the Allo folder and enable the “Backup and Synchronize” feature. After that, your photos will be backed up in Google Photos. If you uninstall, the Google Allo folder stays there in Google Photos.