What happens if you delete your Telegram account?

Deleting the Telegram is simple and we have explained the process here. However, it is common to have questions about how to recover the account, whether it is possible to use the same number in the future, or whether to exit and delete the application is enough to erase the traces online.

According to the terms of use of the Telegram, there are some important details that must be taken into account. I organize the main doubts according to the original FAQ.

What happens if you delete your Telegram account
  • Save

I changed numbers, do I need a new Telegram?

No. According to the Telegram, each phone number is a different account and you have several options to solve this issue if you are switching from a SIM or have more than one phone (like work and personal). Here’s what you can do in three cases.

  • You will no longer use the old number:
    If you have changed your number, simply go to the “Settings” and change the number connected to your Telegram account to the new number using the Telegram Desktop or the application itself. It’s important that you already have access to the new phone number to receive the confirmation SMS.
  • You will use the new number for a limited time:
    If you are going to take a trip or go on vacation, there is no need to do anything. Keep your Telegram on the old number, just set everything up before you travel.
  • If you want to continue using both numbers:
    If you have a business phone and a personal phone, for example, choose one of them as your Telegram number. You can create another Telegram account in the second number – but you will have separate chats with all your contacts and will be added twice to their schedule, which can be confusing.

My cell phone was stolen, now what?

If you no longer have access to your old cell phone or sim, there is still a way to recover your account. Phone number is the only way to identify a Telegram user. First, you need to retrieve your number. Contact your service provider to have them lock your old SIM card and issue a new one.

Wait until you receive your new SIM card with the same old number, log in to the Telegram, and reuse the application. Be sure to go to Settings> Privacy & Security> Active Sessions and end your old mobile session.

Want to leave the Telegram, log out the application

It does not make much sense to want to “go out of business”. You can use Telegram on multiple devices at the same time. Just use the same number and log in.

If you want to gain space on your device by deleting application data, go to Settings> Data & Storage> Storage Usage> Clear Cache.

If you use Telegram with multiple numbers, you can switch between accounts without leaving your account. Touch Menu> Down arrow on your name/number> + Add Account. There, you can include your second professional or personal phone.

If you are using Telegram on a shared device, such as a family computer or tablet, you can set a locking password. Go to Settings> Privacy & Security> Password Lock and create one.

But if you want to leave the Telegram, anyway:

  • iOS: Go to Menu> Settings> Edit> Log Out.
  • Android and Telegram Desktop: Go to Menu> Settings> …> Log Out.

What happens if you leave the Telegram?

Exit from the Telegram does not mean DELETE the account. If you just leave, you’ll keep all your messages in the cloud. This also happens if you just delete the application. However, you will lose all Secret Chats and all secret chat messages.

When you reconnect, you only have access to the backup that is in the cloud.

Another important thing: Logging out does not involve remote deletion of the secret chat history on the device of the people you’ve talked to. If you want to delete something on your device and the one from whom you received the message too, select the message (s) and delete it for everyone if it is a group or on the device of the recipient if it is an inbox.

If I stop using Telegram, does the account deleted by itself?

If you stop using Telegram (because you have logged out) or delete the application from your phone and do not log in to any device, under no circumstances, for at least six months, Telegram says that your account will be erased along with messages, media, contacts, and data stored as your backup in the Telegram cloud.

Note: this does not mean that it also deletes the messages that you sent to others in their backup. This only concerns files that are under your number.

In order to happen, you really do not have to log in to any device where your account has been added for at least six months.

You can change the time window for your account to be considered inactive and destroyed by Telegram itself in Settings> Privacy and Security> Advanced> Delete my account if inactive by> choose: 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, or up to 1 year.

Okay. I deleted the Telegram (my account). What happens?

All YOUR data will be deleted from the Telegram system: messages, groups and contacts associated with your account will be erased. However, this does not erase its trace.

  • your contacts can still chat in the groups you’ve created;
  • your contacts will still have their copy of the messages you sent;
  • all the groups and channels you have created will be orphaned and without a creator;
  • administrators of previously honored groups will retain their rights;
  • if your account has been limited by spam, deletion will not remove the limitations.

So if you want to send messages that can disappear without a trace, try using secret chat along with the self-destruct timer.

Can I recover an account that I deleted?

According to the application, no. “The termination of a Telegram account is irreversible.”

However, if you sign up again, with the same number, you will appear as a new user and will not receive anything from your backup, such as history, contacts, or groups.

People who have your phone number in their contacts will be notified of a new contact. This new user will appear as a separate conversation from your old number to your contacts. Chat history will also be new.

The Telegram reports:

“Please delete your account only if you no longer want to use Telegram. If you delete your account now, you may not be able to sign up again for several days.” So, you’ll have to wait some time to get back, you do not know how much.

Opera Summary:

If you plan to delete an account to erase traces, keep in mind that the people you’ve talked to (outside the secret chat and/or deleting the chat history) still have the same messages including groups that you belong to.

With information: Telegram

Are you looking for discount offers on smartphones? Buy them at the best price on >>> Amazon !

DO YOU WANT AMAZON MUSIC PRIME FOR FREE? FIND HOW!



Previous

Wonder Woman in Injustice 2: Moves, Combos,Strategies and other tricks

20 Sites to Download Vector Images Free For commercial use

Next

Leave a Comment

About Tarun Bhardwaj

I'm a fan of the world of video games for PCs since childhood, from the days of games on Floppy Disk and the last glories of the Commodore, reading magazines such as PC Gamer, Games For My Computer and many others. Even the other platforms intrigue me, but the first love never forgets.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap