How to choose Eevee evolutions in Pokémon Go

Eevee is one of the most popular Pokémon in the franchise, either due to its presence in several generations of the series or the variety of types that the monster evolves. In the mobile game, there is a way to decide which species this Pokémon will become (Vaporeon, Jolteon, Flareon, Umbreon, Espeon, Glaceon or Leafeon). See how to choose Eevee evolutions in Pokémon Go.

Pokémon GO: Hidden Tips and Tricks You Need to Know

Choose Eevee evolutions in Pokémon Go

Eevee has seven evolutions available in Pokémon Go, only missing the fairy-type Sylveon, which has not yet been made available in the game. However, each evolution is random, but the developers have placed an easter egg that allows you to choose the transformation of Eevee.

The secret is to give the Pokémon a name before touching the button to evolve. Each shape needs a specific name.

But be careful: the procedure of changing the name works only once for each evolution of Eevee, make sure you are evolving the correct Pokémon to the desired shape.

For the evolutions below, rename Eevee with the following names:

  • Flareon: Pyro;
  • Jolteon: Sparky;
  • Vaporeon: Rainer;
  • Espeon: Sakura;
  • Umbreon: Tamao;
  • Leafeon: Linnea;
  • Glaceon: Rea.

After renaming, do not start the evolution of Eevee yet. There may be a problem saving the game, so it is recommended to close and open Pokémon Go, check if the name is correct and then evolve the Pokémon. Note, too, that the silhouette will change according to the chosen name.


  1. Rename Eevee to the evolution you want;
  2. Close and open Pokémon Go;
  3. Make sure the name is correct;
  4. Touch the evolve button.

These names are related to the characters that appeared in the Pokémon series as trainers of the respective evolutions. Pyro, Sparky and Rainer are brothers of a boy who has an Eevee, in the episode “The Battling Eevee Brothers” and each has an evolution of the first generation.

Sakura and Tamao are two sisters who were introduced in the second generation of the franchise’s games – Gold, Silver, Crystal, HeartGold and SoulSilver. Each has an evolution of Eevee.

Finally, Glaceon and Leafeon belonged to Rea and Linnea, two coaches that can be found in the games Sun and Moon and Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon.

Alternative means for Umbreon and Espeon

As in the second generation games, to evolve to Umbreon or Espeon, it was necessary for Eevee to level up when it was happy with his trainer. If this happened during the day, it would evolve into Espeon, if it happened during the night, it would be the Umbreon.

In Pokémon Go, this mechanics is a little different: another way to evolve Eevee into Umbreon or Espeon is to leave it as a companion, walk for at least 10 kilometers and then evolve the Pokémon.

If you do the evolution during the day, the result will be Espeon and during the night, Umbreon.

Glaceon and Leafeon in Pokémon Go

Have you noticed some different attract modules in the game?

In the game scenario, Glaceon and Leafeon can be obtained by evolving the Eevee near rocks covered by ice or moss, at specific points on the region’s map. When reproducing this in Pokémon Go, we have the Mossy Attract Modules and Glacial Attract Modules.

The modules must be used in a Pokéstop. In doing so, the Mossy will attract plant, insect and poison Pokémon, while the Glacial will attract water or ice.

When you are near a Pokéstop with one of these modules, just evolve Eevee. The result will be Glaceon (when the module is Glacial) or Leafeon (for Mossy).

Evolution’s own silhouette will inform which of the two Pokémon is coming, instead of the question mark icon, as it traditionally does.

Evololve eevee in Pokemon Go

With information: GamesRadarNiantic Support