Before you begin, note that when you delete an email from Gmail, the content will remain accessible in the bin for 30 days. After this period, the message will be permanently deleted from your account and you will not be able to recover it. To remove a message from your inbox without deleting it, simply archive the email.

You can delete or recover Gmail emails using the Android and iOS apps (iPhone and iPad) or the browser on your computer; see how to exclude every mail at a single time.

How to delete all your emails from Gmail

Deleting messages from Gmail

If you do not want to delete all, you can delete unwanted messages one by one.

Delete a single message on Android

  1. Open the Gmail app;
  2. Open the message you want to delete;
  3. If you want to stay in your inbox, touch the letter or photo of the message.
  4. Touch “Delete”.

Deleting a single message on iOS (iPhone and iPad)

  1. Open the Gmail app;
  2. Touch the letter or image of the sender in the circle next to each email;
  3. Touch “Delete”.

Deleting a single message on your computer

  1. On your computer, go to Gmail;
  2. Point the mouse to the message;
  3. On the right, click “Delete”

Deleting multiple (all) messages from Gmail

You can not delete all messages in the Gmail app, either for Android or for iOS. On the PC, you can use the feature that allows you to exclude in batch with the check box.

  1. Open Gmail on your computer;
  2. In the upper left corner, click the down arrow;
  3. Click “All”;
  4. If you have more than one page, click “Select all conversations”;
  5. Click “Delete”;

How to empty the trash in Gmail

If you do not want a message to be in the Gmail trash bin for 30 days, you can permanently delete it if you empty the trash in the same way you do on your computer.

How to empty trash on Android

  1. Open the Gmail app;
  2. In the top left corner, touch Menu;
  3. Touch the Recycle Bin icon;
  4. At the top, touch “Empty Trash Now”.

How to Empty Trash on iOS (iPhone and iPad)

  1. Open the Gmail app;
  2. In the top left corner, touch Menu;
  3. Tap “Trash”, then “Empty Trash Now”.

How to Empty the Recycle Bin on Your Computer

  1. On your computer, go to Gmail;
  2. On the left side of the page, scroll down;
  3. Click “More” and then click the “Recycle Bin” icon;
  4. Check the box next to the messages you want to permanently delete;
  5. Click “Delete Permanently.”
  6. To delete all messages in the trash, click “Empty Trash Now”.

Note 1:
Only on the computer can you choose what to exclude from the Recycle Bin;

Note 2:
The “Delete permanently” option is only available in the Recycle Bin. You will not be able to permanently delete the search results in the preview.

How to recover email and messages from the Gmail recycle bin

If you have regretted sending something to the Bin, there is hope. You can restore messages that have been deleted in the last month, but no more.

How to recover messages from the Gmail Recycle Bin on your computer

  1. Go to Gmail.
  2. On the left side of the page, scroll down;
  3. Click “More” and then “Trash”;
  4. Check the box next to the messages you want to move;
  5. Click “Move” to move to the Inbox;
  6. Choose where you want to move the message in the mailbox.

The process is quite similar in both Android and iOS apps.



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here